Wacky Wednesday – Flagstaff, AZ

I decided that since I have started Music Monday, I can also establish Wacky Wednesday. There are just so many wacky things out there, if you just take a moment to look for them. Each week I’ll bring you a bit of wacky, crazy, unusual, bizarre, or just plain fun.

This week I’ll start with:

Here's a happy fellow!

This little guy was spotted at the Arboretum at Flagstaff in Arizona. Isn’t he cute? I can’t help but smile when I look at him. I think I’ll call him Dakarai which means “child brings joy, happiness” in the Shone language in Africa because this little statue makes me laugh.

Unfortunately, if you want to see him yourself, you’ll have to wait until spring. The Arboretum is closed until then because of snow. I was lucky enough to see it this past August. It is off the beaten path and you must travel a few miles on dirt forest service roads, but it is worth a visit. There are trails, a gift shop and even a raptor show with rescued birds.

Just so you don’t think it’s all goofy statuettes, here’s another photo I shot from there looking toward the San Francisco Peaks north of Flagstaff where you’ll find the wonderful Snow Bowl. The Snow Bowl has some of the regions greatest skiing and snow boarding.

looking north

one of the rescued birds of prey

Check it out after the thaw. The clean, fresh air with only the sound of the wind through the trees was worth the drive for this city girl; I’ll definitely be heading up there again.

This entry was posted in Arizona, AZ, happiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

